Shshhing Exercises

Stretching those Librarian Muscles

Online Libraries December 22, 2008

Filed under: library,Web 2.0 — LauraLou @ 3:32 pm
Tags: , , , ,

I tried out Library Thing and Good Reads, and I wasn’t really a fan of either.  Or rather, I liked parts of both of them, but neither of them seemed to work for me.  I liked the ease of adding titles in Good Reads, and I liked that it had a non-flash widget that I could put in my wordpress blog (though I don’t like that it’s all one line).  In Library Thing, I liked being able to tag books, which would make it much more useful for Readers Advisory and provide a handy way to search and sort the many, many titles we have jumbled in our heads.  I also liked the full cataloging it provided (I am a librarian, after all)  However, adding new titles was very clunky and it seemed to take awhile for each one to load.  I think that Good Reads would be a handy way to track what I’ve read for my own personal enjoyment, and Library Thing would be a good tool for readers advisory, but neither really works for me.  Wish there was a way to combine what I like of both, so I guess I’ll keep my eyes out for new versions now that I can see the possibilities.

 

One Response to “Online Libraries”

  1. hravan Says:

    Lots of library staff have settled on GoodReads because it is compatible with Facebook. You can use your account while in Facebook and share it with your Facebook friends.


Leave a comment