Shshhing Exercises

Stretching those Librarian Muscles

Wikis January 2, 2009

Filed under: library,Web 2.0 — LauraLou @ 12:54 pm
Tags: , ,

Like RSS feeds, I feel very “Meh” about wikis.  I see how they can be useful in the world, but I’m less thrilled about their potential for the public library.  They are a handy way to post information for the staff (like the mat man wiki), but that doesn’t really take advantage of the contributive nature of wikis (it’s not like I’m doing that much editing of the collection development manual).  By their very nature, to be truly a community spot, wikis require community buy-in and contribution.  I have a hard time imagining the public adding to and cleaning up library-created subject guides, or putting community information on the library wiki.  Like most of this web 2.0 stuff, I think wikis will find their place in our future world, but it may not be as central as many of the current proponents envision.

 

One Response to “Wikis”

  1. hravan Says:

    We created a branch wiki at MAY and it came in very handy during our re-carpeting this summer. We had a huge list of things that needed to be done and used the wiki to add to the list and then note when items were accomplished.

    We also use the wiki for our programming plan and post our storytime themes so that we don’t overlap.

    We even have the circ staff using the wiki. When a branch meeting is coming up, we all post agenda items to the wiki. This gives our manager or myself time to look over the issues staff would like to discuss.

    I think staff felt pretty “Meh” about the wiki at first. I tried to spice up the front page of it with silly branch photos. Staff are gradually getting less intimidated by it.


Leave a comment